Undergraduate Studies

Advising

The Mathematics department advises majors each semester, starting about two weeks before the opening of registration for the next semester and continuing until the end of registration. Each major will be assigned to one of the departmental advisors based roughly on the first letter of their last name, with the exception of majors in the Math Education concentration and students in the mathematics AMP program. Please note that these assignments may change from semester to semester. Students in Math Education will be advised by the Math Education advisor (see list below), while AMP students will be advised by one of the AMP advisors (see list below), since these programs have special considerations.

For general questions about major or minor advising please e-mail either math@ua.edu or the department’s undergraduate program director.

Course Listing

Information on when math courses are offered can be found the course offerings page.

Departmental Advising

Advisors Last Names beginning with Email
Trace, Bruce A-Bn btrace@ua.edu
Corson, Jon Bo-Cam jcorson@ua.edu
Lee, Kyungyong Can-Cz klee94@ua.edu
Ames, Brendan D bpames@ua.edu
Halpern, David E-Gia dhalpern@ua.edu
Hadji, Layachi Gic-Ho lhadji@ua.edu
Roberts, Lawrence Ho-K and 1st year students lproberts@ua.edu
Zhao, Shan L szhao@ua.edu
Evans, Martin M mevans@ua.edu
Rasoulzadeh, Mojdeh N-Pe mrasoulzadeh@ua.edu
Sun, Min Pf-R msun@ua.edu
Nguyen, Hai-Dang Sa-Sp hnguyen4@ua.edu
Watley, Erin Sq-Sul lewatley@ua.edu
Toro, Roberto Sum-U rctororodriguez@ua.edu
Shao, Yuanzhen V-Wa yshao8@ua.edu
Ferguson, Timothy We-Z tjferguson1@ua.edu
Gleason, Jim Mathematics Education jgleason@ua.edu
Makowski, Martha Mathematics Education mbmakowski@ua.edu
Moen, Kabe Accelerated Master’s Program kabe.moen@ua.edu
Tosun, Bulent Accelerated Master’s Program btosun@ua.edu
Dai, Shibin Graduate students sdai4@ua.edu
Dixon, Martyn Graduate students mdixon@ua.edu
Wang, Chuntian Graduate students cwang27@ua.edu
Zhu, Wei Graduate students wzhu@ua.edu