Undergraduate Studies

Advising

The Mathematics department advises majors each semester, starting about two weeks before the opening of registration for the next semester and continuing until the end of registration. Each major will be assigned to one of the departmental advisors based roughly on the first letter of their last name, with the exception of majors in the Math Education concentration and students in the mathematics AMP program. Please note that these assignments may change from semester to semester. Students in Math Education will be advised by the Math Education advisor (see list below), while AMP students will be advised by one of the AMP advisors (see list below), since these programs have special considerations.

For general questions about major or minor advising please e-mail either math@ua.edu or the department’s undergraduate program director.

Course Listing

Information on when math courses are offered can be found the course offerings page.

Departmental Advising for Spring 2024

Advisor Last names begin with Email
Trace, Bruce AA-Bn btrace@ua.edu
Corson, Jon Bo-Cn jcorson@ua.edu
Halpern, David Co-Dea dhalpern@ua.edu
Bortz, Simon Deb – Fb sbortz@ua.edu
Ames, Brendan Fc-Gp bpames@ua.edu
Chen, Yuhui Gr-Ho ychen164@ua.edu
Hadji, Layachi Hp-Ki lhadji@ua.edu
Roberts, Lawrence Kj-Le lproberts@ua.edu
Nguyen, Hai-Dang Lf-Mar hnguyen4@ua.edu
Zhao, Shan Mars-Min szhao@ua.edu
Evans, Martin Mio-Ot mevans@ua.edu
Rasoulzadeh, Mojdeh Ou-Ra mrasoulzadeh@ua.edu
Sun, Min Rb-Sa msun@ua.edu
Hocutt, Jeramiah Sb-Sul jahocutt@ua.edu
Toro-Rodriguez, Roberto Sum – Va rctororodriguez@ua.edu
Shao, Yuanzhen Vb-Wal yshao8@ua.edu
Ferguson, Timothy Wam-Zz tjferguson1@ua.edu
Gleason, Jim Mathematics Education jgleason@ua.edu
Makowski, Martha Mathematics Education mbmakowski@ua.edu
Moen, Kabe Accelerated Master’s Program kabe.moen@ua.edu
Tosun, Bulent Accelerated Master’s Program (on sabbatical Fl23-SP24) btosun@ua.edu
Dai, Shibin Graduate students sdai4@ua.edu
Dixon, Martyn Graduate students mdixon@ua.edu
Lee, Kyungyong Graduate students klee94@ua.edu
Wang, Chuntian Graduate students cwang27@ua.edu
Zhu, Wei Graduate students wzhu7@ua.edu