Leighton Wilson Wins Research Awards

Leighton Wilson, a computer-based honors student, won the prestigious Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award from the University and the B.B. Comer Award for most outstanding mathematics senior. He has been

Zhao Awarded Funding for a Postdoc

Dr. Shan Zhao has received the UA Research Stimulation Program (RSP) award to support a postdoctoral fellow for two years. The title of his proposal is “Locally-one-dimensional (LOD) finite difference

Dixon Accepts Two Italian Invitations

Dr. Martyn Dixon, a professor in the Department of Mathematics, was invited as the main speaker at the Ischia Group Theory Conference . The event was held in Ischia, Italy, in

Math to Host AACTM Annual Meeting

The UA Department of Mathematics will host the MAA Alabama State Dinner on February 6, 2015 and the annual meeting of the Alabama Association of College Teachers of Mathematics on

Grad Students Attend AWIS Reception

On Tuesday, November 19, 2013, President Bonner hosted a reception for our new Tuscaloosa-UA area Association for Women in Science (AWIS) affiliate group at the President’s Mansion.  Representing our department were Dr.

2014 Honors Day Awards

Congratulations to our 2014 Honors Day winners: Yuanyuan Song, Outstanding Teaching by a Doctoral Candidate Debendra Banjade, Outstanding Research by a Doctoral Candidate  

2013 Honors Day Awards

Congratulations to our 2013 Honors Day winners: Teresa N. Portone , B. B. Comer Mathematics Prize William Douglas Weathers, Thomas Waverly Palmer Mathematics Award Jeffrey N. Holmes , Dr. Fred A.